Finalists announced for bfa HSBC Franchisee of the Year Awards 2014

Record-breaking number of entrants narrowed down to 19 franchisees who will battle it out for top accolade in UK franchising

Finalists announced for bfa HSBC Franchisee of the Year Awards 2014

Given their positioning at the coalface of the UK’s franchising landscape, it’s only right that our country’s franchisees are recognised for their efforts on a yearly basis. And there can be no better accolade than picking up a gong at the annual bfa HSBC Franchisee of the Year Awards, supported by Express Newspapers, for which the 2014 finalists have just been announced.

With the esteemed awards celebrating their 25th anniversary this year, it’s somewhat fitting that a record number of entrants have come forward this time around. We suspect that’s owing to an equally record-breaking year for franchisee success stories – but it’s a happy anniversary either way.

For those of you unaware how the awards work, there’ll be a winner crowned in each of the six categories, with the top award of bfa HSBC Franchisee of the Year 2014 being selected as one of those six. The overall winner will take home a tidy £10,000 and each category winner will receive £1,000, courtesy of HSBC.

As the below list demonstrates, this year’s finalists come from a diverse range of business sectors and are spread far and wide, encompassing every single corner of the United Kingdom. Here they are in all of their glory:

Customer Service Franchisee of the Year

  • Joggy Dhillon, Domino’s Pizza, Coleraine & Omagh

  • Nathan Holmes, Revive!, Cambridge

  • Richard McConnell, The ZipYard, Altrincham & Wilmslow

Female Franchisee of the Year

  • “Diane Maxwell, Driver Hire, Belfast

  • “Rachel Shaw, Subway, West Wickham & Thornton Heath

  • Joyce Batten, Tutor Doctor, Bromley

Young Franchisee of the Year (aged 30 or under)

  • Aaron Stewart, Marston’s, Sheffield

  • Phylly Jones, Pyjama Drama, North Surrey

  • Matthew Woodall, Revive!, Bath

Micro-Business Franchisee of the Year (less than £100,000 turnover)

  • Tina Young, Barking Mad, Northumberland

  • Matthew May, Ed’s Garden, Maintenance Folkestone

  • Andrew Smith, Little Kickers, South Lancashire

B2B Franchisee of the Year

  • Frank Sutherland, Autosmart, Aberdeen

  • Nick Barber, Minster Cleaning Services, Northamptonshire

  • Jayne Gethin, ServiceMaster Clean, South West Wales

Olderpreneur Franchisee of the Year (aged 55 or older)

  • Terry Lucking, Belvoir Lettings, Peterborough

  • Charles Folkes, Caremark, Redcar & Cleveland

  • Charles Trevor-Roper, No Letting Go, West Berkshire

  • Nihal Samarasekara, O2, Hove & surroundings

“The selection process becomes more difficult each time we hold these awards and making this shortlist is a great achievement in itself, particularly this year following an unprecedented number of entries,” said Brian Smart, director general of the British Franchise Association. “This is a celebration of 19 local business owners from across the UK who have demonstrated outstanding entrepreneurialism, passion and dedication. Choosing our winners shall be very difficult indeed.”

The tricky decision will be made by the judging panel after two days of presentations and deliberations on July 16 & 17, with the winners announced in Birmingham on October 2. Caremark will be hoping to follow up its franchisee Janis Anderson’s (pictured) win last year as the care franchise’s Redcar and Cleveland franchisee Charles Folkes goes for the Olderpreneur Franchisee of the Year trophy.

The Elite Franchise team wishes the best of luck to all involved – but in our eyes, everyone’s a winner.”

Adam Pescod
Adam Pescod